The Loser Equivalent

There are certain things you should do at least once in your life, like crossing the equator, running a marathon or swimming with sharks. If you are a real nerd, you will also find on your list “staying all night at the library” … and learning Manadarin maybe. I myself did some of these things, even completed the shark challenge – and of course I’ve stayed at the library all night long. This is the ultimate loser equivalent of “partying all night and getting out of the club in the morning” (something you should have on your list too). For me, it was actually an interesting experience even though in retrospective I doubt I learned much after 4am. You watch how this crowded place slowly becomes quiet and only a few students, either really motivated or really desperate, remain. The cleaning crew goes through the place as tired employees put back the last books into the shelves. Then, even most of them leave and you stay, trying to somehow get your work done, reading books, writing down notes. And for some weird reason, this actually starts to feel fun – in my case mostly because of the friends who were with me.

Night at the Library

When I took this photo, my days as a student were luckily already over. Actually I was on my way to the video store, the lazy equivalent of the library. The street was mostly dark, only the windows of library let trough some light, illuminating the street. I passed by and saw this single bike in front of the place. I couldn’t help to imagine who this bike belongs to and wondering what’s holding him/her tonight…

Leave a Reply

