Deep Dark Sea

When I visited the Maledives last year, it was a trip to paradise. There’s no other way to describe it. I had never before seen a place that looked literally like the pictures in the travel brochure.

Maayafushi, Maledives

Just at night, that changed a little bit. The pitch black ocean made me feel uneasy – especially after I had seen the shark feeding. On the island it had become a custom to throw leftovers into the ocean at night.

Feeding Sharks

Standing on a barely illuminated pier, you didn’t have to wait for more than a minute until the water was actually boiling from huge sharks fighting over the food.

Sharks on Maayafushi, Maledives

While I thought it was a pretty dumb idea to teach these animals that food is to be found close to the beach, other visitors had a blast.

Sharks on Maayafushi, Maledives

A little later, a boat with fishermen, not equipped with any lights, suddenly appeared from absolute darkness. The men started unloading their fish, throwing the half-dead animals on the pier. I was very hard taking photos as there was barely any light. I have no idea how this boat could even navigate in these conditions.

Fisherboat in Darkness

While I took my share of the typical “oh look how blue the water is”-pictures the days before, on this night I got to see another side of this paradise, a dark side (literally, metaphorically it was awesome). It was surely interesting, but at the same time assured me that I wouldn’t take a night swim 😉

Dead Fish

One thought on “Deep Dark Sea”

Leave a Reply

