Holi Festival Of Colours Karlsruhe

Holi Macaroni

Last weekend I went to a Holi event in my town. Holi is a Hindu religious festival and therefore celebrated mainly in India and Nepal. However, in the last years it has been widely commercialized and turned into a huge party in many cities around the globe. So I went there with mixed feelings…

Holi Festival Of Colours Karlsruhe

I had first seen a Holi Festival in the movie Outsourced quite some years ago, but heard about it from some Indian friends in the USA a couple of years ago. A main idea of the Holi celebration is throwing colored powder at each other and thereby erasing for a moment social barriers such as age, gender, status, and caste. The video of a Sony commercial illustrates nicely how colorful this event is (and no, Sony doesn’t sponsor me, the video is just interesting from a photographers point of view).

So, here are some photos from the event:

Holi Festival Of Colours Karlsruhe

Holi Festival Of Colours Karlsruhe

Holi Festival Of Colours Karlsruhe

Holi Festival Of Colours Karlsruhe

Holi Festival Of Colours Karlsruhe

Holi Festival Of Colours Karlsruhe

Holi Festival Of Colours Karlsruhe

Holi Festival Of Colours Karlsruhe

Taking photos there wasn’t too easy. The colored powder is everywhere on your clothes, your face and especially on your hands. Combined with some water it becomes a thick multicolored paste. I saw a lot of brave people with their phones and cameras unprotected, others with plastic bags and tons of scotch tape around. I had decided to go for my underwater bag and that was actually okay, though most of the time I couldn’t see nada on the display and had to shoot blindly.

Holi Festival Of Colours Karlsruhe

Holi Festival Of Colours Karlsruhe

Holi Festival Of Colours Karlsruhe

Of course, it’s one more party stripped of its traditional meaning. Despite my doubts I actually had a lot of fun. Not sure what to think of that and if I’ll be back for more next year. We’ll see…

Holi Festival Of Colours Karlsruhe

Holi Festival Of Colours Karlsruhe

For now, I’m still working on getting my clothes and shoes clean 😉

14 thoughts on “Holi Macaroni”

Leave a Reply

