France in Black&White

Coping with Limitations

“The best camera is the one that’s with you” – heard this a million times and it’s not untrue. Anyhow, I quite often wish I would have my “real” camera with me instead of the crappy Samsung Galaxy S (or at least a Nokia 1020 ;))

In this picture here I decided to take a small hike after coming out of a supermarket in France. I went up a hill and immediately regretted I hadn’t taken my NEX shopping. The sun was relatively low, therefore making it incredibly hard to take a shot that didn’t overexpose the sky or underexpose the landscape.

So I gave it a shot with the HDR app, but the result wasn’t quite good enough yet. In the end I decided that the best way to make up for the limitations of the camera in my mobile phone was taking away the colors. This allowed me to play a little more with contrast and brightness without producing completely unrealistic colors.

France in Black&White

I know, you can argue if I also had to put the frame, but what do you think in general – okay for a 3 year old smartphone camera?

Leave a Reply

